Digital Equity

Digital Equity Planning for Appalachian Communities

Through the Appalachian Regional Commission's new Appalachian Regional Initiative for Stronger Economies (ARISE) program, communities are eligible to apply for technical assistance and planning support to prepare community-specific digital equity plans.

Working with local partners in 12 Appalachian states—Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia—Connect Humanity will help communities develop tailored digital equity plans designed to deliver appropriate technology, business, and financing plans necessary to ensure high-speed and affordable internet for all, device access, and digital literacy training. 

For more information and to apply, visit